top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

BEST OF BEAUTY 2017 (DRUGSTORE):

When I posted my "Best of Beauty 2017" highend makeup edition I decided I should do a drugstore one too for all of you ladies and gentlemen trying to be ballin' on a budget. So without further ado I bring to you my favorite drug store products of 2017...

My favorite drug store primer would have to be the NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting Primer. This is a velvety-smooth primer that minimizes pores and helps to make your makeup last all day. I haven't found a drug store primer yet that I'm absolutely crazy about, but for the sake of this blog this primer does the job.

For foundation the Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation is without a doubt a winner. For only $5.99 this foundation works just as good as some luxury foundations. Also for being drug store this foundation has a pretty good shade range, I was able to find a shade that matches my skin perfectly so that's always a plus not having to mix two foundations together to get a perfect match. This foundation is amazing and I would recommend wearing it for events where you're going to get a lot of pictures taken because that is what it's meant for.

For concealer I hopped on the bandwagon and also fell in love with the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer just like the rest of the world has. Besides the stupid applicator, this concealer is pretty impressive. I'd say it's more along the lines of medium coverage and it blends out very easily. The consistency is a little on the thick side but if you like Shapetape then you would probably like this concealer as well. It has a "fan fave" label for a reason.

For setting powder of course I had to pick the Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder. This powder is honestly amazing for only being $7. The container is huge and fits a lot of product, but on the other hand the packaging can be quite messy because it doesn't have a sifter. On a real note though this powder is so good even though it smells like a grandma. I use this powder on the daily even though I do own the Laura Mercier setting powder I still reach for this powder a lot.

For bronzer I of course went with the Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer. Now this is on the pricey side when it comes to drug store, but it is worth every penny. I have a bunch of high end bronzers, but on a daily basis I always grab for this one. It is so smooth and leaves your skin looking flawless and glowy. It also has two shades so if the regular bronzer is too dark for you there is a lighter shade of it as well which is awesome. I own the lighter one for the winter when I'm as pale as the snow.

For contour I fell in love with the Wet N Wild MegaGlo Contouring Palette. I don't really use the lighter highlighting shade at all but the contour shade is amazing. It's the perfect cool-toned color and is super pigmented. This contour is very powdery however, so if you hate kick back then you're going to hate this. Just do one dip into the pan and tap the excess off of your brush and you'll love this product.

The Milani Baked Blush in the shade Luminoso is a new favorite of mine. Honestly though all Milani blushes are amazing. I have a couple other ones with different formulas and they are just as good. I love the color of this blush it's the perfect "pinky peach" color. This blush also has a bit of a shine/glow to it so if you only like matte blushes I would stay away from this one. I personally love it! The glowier my skin is the better!

For highlighter the Wet N Wild MegaGlo Highlighting Powder is amazing. When these first hit the internet everyone went nuts for them and they were always out of stock. I don't think you can beat a blinding highlighter for only $5. Like I just said these highlighters are absolutely blinding and they're drugstore so what more could you ask for?

Jaclyn Hill introduced me to this mascara and I have been loving it. The L'oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara is everything it's name says it is. It makes your lashes have so much volume and it truly is well.. BLACK. This mascara has a thick formula so you really have to take your time when applying it, but other than that it is amazing for only $8.

For an eyeshadow palette the Carli Bybel Palettte from BH Cosmetics is by far the best bang for your buck. The eyeshadows feel and blend like high end eyeshadows and it comes with blinding highlighters as well that can be used as both highlighter and eyeshadow. A little bit on the pricier side for drugstore makeup, but I feel like you're paying for the higher quality. I would recommend this palette to all beginners because it has beautiful neutral shades and is inexpensive.

I know Morphe isn't considered drug store but I consider their prices to be drug store so that's why I'm including this last product. The Morphe Continuous Setting Mist is by far the best most inexpensive setting spray. The product comes out so evenly on your skin and truly locks your makeup into place. Whenever my makeup starts to look a little too powdery I drench my face with this product because it works really well at adding moisture back into your skin.

I didn't have any favorite brow products to mention because quite frankly I don't own any drugstore brow products because I just don't trust it. These are my favorite drug store products of 2017 and my goal for 2018 is to experiment with more drug store products so I have cheaper alternatives to recommend to you guys. I hope you guys enjoyed this blog post and feel free to click on my "Best of Beauty 2017" High end makeup post as well! As always XOXO, Morgan.


bottom of page