top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

I'M BACK BITCHES

I KNOW, it's been a hot minute since I've posted on my blog. To be quite honest finals got in the way of everything, and then I was working all day everyday all summer long and time just really got away from me. I sort of lost a bit of my passion for makeup this summer as I had no time to play with makeup and almost always wore a bare face. BUT, lucky for you guys I'm back and better than ever.

To kick off this first blog post I'm going to be giving my review on the full Desi X Katy "Friendcation" collaboration with Dose of Colors along with filling you guys in on the current products I've been loving.

Starting with the eyes: for this look I used the Desi X Katy "Friendcation" palette, and guys this palette had me inspired and wanting to play with makeup since the second they announced this collaboration. On a side note, Desi Perkins & Katy have been my go to's on Youtube lately. They have been creating some insane looks as of recently, and are just genuine people without all the drama.

I first used the shade 'basic' as a light transition shade. I initially thought I could use this shade as an all over base color, but it has much more pigment than I was expecting and worked perfectly as a transition shade. I also used this shade a lot to blur out the edges of every color I used. This made my blending look so seamless.

I deepened the crease up with the shade 'necessary' which again had so much pigment and was very buildable. I deepened the crease up even more with the shade 'girl bye' which also added a bit of warmth to the crease. I then used the shade 'a moment' all over the lid and this fucking shade is absolutely STUNNING. This shade was the reason I wanted this palette so much. There is no other eyeshadow shade out there like this one. It has a duo chrome reflex of blue and purple to it so it changes colors when you look at it in different lightings. I also used the shade 'cheens' to blur out the edges where the blue and the crease colors meet. I also brought that blue shade 'a moment' onto my lower lash line as well. For a pop of highlight I used the old highlighter in this collection called 'fuego' in my inner corner and brow bone.

Friendcation Palette: $55

Now moving onto the face: For primer, as of recently I've been loving the Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base ($60). This primer was such a splurge, but was worth every penny. I found that my Benefit Porefessional was leaving my skin too dry looking so I wanted something a little more moisturizing. This Bobbi Brown primer makes my makeup last all day, and smooths out my pores while also being super moisturizing.

For foundation, I've also recently been loving the Nars Natural Radiant Longwear Foundation ($49). This foundation has is full coverage without the caky-ness. This foundation is definitely not mattifying as it gives the skin an all over skin-like glow. My focus as of recently for my face makeup has been for it to look as skin-like and natural as possible, and this foundation has become my absolute favorite.

For concealer, I've just hit the last bits of my Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer ($30). I've been loving this concealer for the way that it doesn't dry up my under eye. I find that most concealers make my under eye look dry and cakey. I love this concealer, but now that I'm out of it and needing to buy more I've been questioning trying a new concealer. I think I wanna give Tarte Shape Tape another chance being that the main reason I don't like that concealer is because the shade I have of it is way too light for my skin tone. I've also been wanting to try the new Too Faced concealer, so I'll keep you guys updated on which one I decide to purchase.

Nothing new with setting my face as I'm still using the OG Laura Mercier translucent setting powder. For bronzer, all summer I was loving my Urban Decay Beached Bronzer but then like the unorganized idiot I am I knocked it off my bathroom counter and it shattered into a million pieces so RIP to that. So now, instead, I've been going back to my Physicians Formula butter bronzer. For contour I am still hooked on the Wet N Wild megaglow contouring palette. I've discovered recently, that I am more into warm tone bronzers and contour rather than cool toned ones. I've been saving up since the death of my Urban Decay bronzer for the Marc Jacobs O!mega bronzer. For blush, I just mixed a couple shades from my Morphe blush palette. For highlighter, I used the new Desi X Katy "chasing the sun" highlighter as more of a bronzer topper being that it is a deeper shade of highlight. I used the Desi X Katy highlighter in "fuego" on the tops of my cheekbones and both these highlighters are AMAZING. I love how natural this formula is so smooth and buttery. I've been hating highlighters that have super chunky glitter as of recently.

Last not but least, for lips I used the new liquid lipstick from the Desi X Katy collaboration in the shade "a mauve story". I also decided to top this lipstick with the new gloss in the shade "the most". This gloss needs it's own little appreciation post because wow that shits fire. This gloss is clear with red and pink glitter reflex in it that just make your lips looking like they're dripping.

So here are my final thoughts on the Desi X Katy round 2 collaboration with Dose of Colors.. THIS COLLAB IS BOMB. If you only had the option to get one thing from this palette I would without a doubt choose the eyeshadow palette, because the colors are so unique and blend like a dream and there are so many different eye looks you can create with the palette. The next thing I would get from this collab would be the glosses, there's a gold reflex one and a pink reflex one and they are both AMAZING. These glosses look gorgeous on their own on plain old lips, but on top of any lip color they look fucking insane. I would also highly recommend the highlighter in the shade 'fuego' for my lighter skinned ladies and the shade 'chasing the sun' for my darker skinned ladies. The formula of these highlighters is perfect for that natural wet look. The lip colors is where I wasn't so impressed with this collection as they all came off very brown looking on my lips. My favorite lip color would have to be 'a mauve story' which I used in the look pictured above. All in all, I'm so happy with my purchase of this collection and it truly got me back into loving makeup so much. I hope you guys enjoyed this blog post and I have many more on the way, so stay tuned! XOXO, Morgan.


bottom of page